City of Binghamton, New York

Binghamton Urban Renewal Agency (BURA)

The mission of the Binghamton Urban Renewal Agency (BURA) is to alleviate blight, provide for urban renewal, and stimulate sustainable community and economic redevelopment in designated brownfield areas of the City of Binghamton (adopted by the BURA Board of Directors March 23, 2012).

In accordance with Article II Section 7 of the by-laws, BURA shall consist of seven members, including the Mayor, Comptroller, Corporation Counsel, City Engineer, Commissioner of Public Works and two members of the Council of the City of Binghamton.

Members  Appointed Expiration Appointed By
Richard C. David, Mayor (Ex-Officio) 01/01/2014 12/31/2021 BURA By-Laws
Philip Strawn, City Council Member (Ex-Officio) 01/01/2021 12/31/2021 BURA By-Laws
Aviva Friedman, City Council Member (Ex-Officio) 01/01/2020 12/31/2021 BURA By-Laws
Kenneth J. Frank, Corporation Counsel (Ex-Officio) 01/01/2008 12/31/2021 BURA By-Laws
Chuck Shager, Comptroller (Ex-Officio) 06/02/2014 12/31/2021 BURA By-Laws
John Paddock, Commissioner of Public Works (Ex-Officio) 11/18/2019 12/31/2021 BURA By-Laws
Ronald Lake, City Engineer (Ex-Officio) 05/0/2021 12/31/2021 BURA By-Laws

Regular Meetings of the Board of Directors of BURA are held at 2:00 PM in the Mayor’s Conference Room, 4th floor, City Hall, on the second Tuesday of January, April, July and October.